Author: Nault, Joanne

CPPR faculty Prof Tony Zhou is invited to serve as an Associate Editor

CPPR faculty Prof Tony Zhou is invited to serve as an Associate Editor at Frontiers in Pharmacology (IF 5.6) and Early Career Advisory Board Member at ACS Infectious Diseases (IF 5.3).  Frontiers in Pharmacology is an interdisciplinary journal that publishes research on the interactions between drugs and living beings to prevent and cure human disease.  ACS Infectious Diseases is the first journal to highlight chemistry and its role in the multidisciplinary and collaborative field of infectious disease research.  

UConn CPPR Student wins IPEC Foundation Award

Ling Zhu, graduate student in Robin Bogner’s lab at UConn, was recognized for his research on pharmaceutical excipients by the International Pharmaceutical Excipients Council Foundation.  Ling joins a long list of CPPR students who have won this prestigious award, including Dana Moseson (Purdue University), Andre Beringhs (UConn), Tingting Li (UConn), and Jayesh Sonje (University of Minnesota). 

Prestigious Award for CPPR Student, Tanu Mehta 

CPPR student, Tanu Mehta, from the laboratory of Dr. Bodhi Chaudhuri at UConn has been awarded the Drug Delivery to the Lungs 2023 Career Development Grant. The grant provides critical support to young researchers in the field of respiratory science, facilitating both the advancement of respiratory drug delivery technologies and the growth of scientists’ careers. The research work will be showcased at the renowned Drug Delivery to the Lungs 2024 conference in Scotland, a premier event and industry exhibition entirely dedicated to pulmonary and nasal drug delivery. 


CPPR Faculty, Prof. Xiuling Lu, Advanced to Fellow Status  

Prof. Xiuling Lu of University of Connecticut joins a growing list of CPPR faculty who are AA PS Fellows.  Dr. Lu will be recognized as a new Fellow at the PharmSci360 meeting in October.  Known best for her work in nanoparticle-based therapeutics, Dr. Lu also serves in many leadership roles in AAPS and NIPTE.  Other CPPR faculty who are AAPS Fellows include Robin Bogner, Diane Burgess, Stephen Byrn, Tonglei Li, Eric Munson, Raj Suryanarayanan, Lynne Taylor, and Elizabeth Topp. 

Another Successful CPPR Research Conference

University of Minnesota hosted about 30 industrial scientists, faculty and students met Oct 9-11, 2023 to share research findings and proposals for new research projectsFour new research projects were selected for funding by the Industrial Advisory BoardNew research involves cell cryopreservation, CFD-DEM modeling of suspension mixing, polymer selection for amorphous solid dispersions, and spray freeze-drying of emerging therapies. 

CPPR Faculty, Prof. Diane Burgess, Recognized for Advancement of Women in the Pharmaceutical Sciences

CPPR faculty, Distinguished Professor Diane Burgess of University of Connecticut, was named the 2023 Alice E. Till Advancement of Women in Pharmaceutical Sciences AwardeeDr. Burgess joins fellow CPPR faculty, Prof. Lynne Taylor of Purdue University, who won the honor in 2022Dr. Burgess has served as mentor and role model to many students, trainees, and peers.