Month: December 2018

Raj Sury student, Kweku Amponsah-Efah, wins IPEC Award

Kweku Amponsah-Efah, grad student at the University of Minnesota, in Dr. Raj Suryanarayanan’s lab, received one of the 2018 International Pharmaceutical Excipients Council Foundation Graduate Student Scholarship Awards. The award was presented at the IPEC foundation dinner, at the 2018 AAPS annual meeting in Washington, D.C. on Nov. 4th.  Kweku presented two posters: “Characterizing the nature of drug-polymer complexes in aqueous solution using analytical ultracentrifugation” and “Probing the temperature-dependence of structural relaxation times deep in the glassy state of amorphous pharmaceuticals.”

Stephen R. Byrn Recognized by the AAPS

Professor Stephen R. Byrn (Purdue University) was recognized by the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists with the AAPS Pharmaceutical Global Health Award.  Dr. Byrn is one of the cofounders of the Kilimanjaro Sustainable Medicines in Africa Program, which is dedicated to enabling quality manufacturing of critical medicines in Africa by Africans.

See the video describing the award.