CPPR Project Reveals Nanometer-Scale Residual Crystals in Hot Melt Extrudates

Dana Moseson, graduate student in Lynne Taylor’s lab at Purdue University describe the characterization of residual crystallinity in hot melt extrudates down to the nanometer-scale using a suite of techniques.  See Moseson DE, Mugheirbi NA, Stewart AA, Taylor LS. Nanometer-Scale Residual Crystals in a Hot Melt Extruded Amorphous Solid Dispersion: Characterization by Transmission Electron Microscopy. Crystal Growth & Design. 2018 Oct 26;18(12):7633-40.

Hot Melt Extrusion Publication from CPPR

Dana Moseson and her advisor Lynne Taylor from Purdue University published their CPPR-funded work on applying phase diagrams to prevent residual crystallinity in hot melt extrudates.  See Moseson DE, Taylor LS. The application of temperature-composition phase diagrams for hot melt extrusion processing of amorphous solid dispersions to prevent residual crystallinity. International journal of pharmaceutics. 2018 Dec 20;553(1-2):454-66.

Raj Sury student, Kweku Amponsah-Efah, wins IPEC Award

Kweku Amponsah-Efah, grad student at the University of Minnesota, in Dr. Raj Suryanarayanan’s lab, received one of the 2018 International Pharmaceutical Excipients Council Foundation Graduate Student Scholarship Awards. The award was presented at the IPEC foundation dinner, at the 2018 AAPS annual meeting in Washington, D.C. on Nov. 4th.  Kweku presented two posters: “Characterizing the nature of drug-polymer complexes in aqueous solution using analytical ultracentrifugation” and “Probing the temperature-dependence of structural relaxation times deep in the glassy state of amorphous pharmaceuticals.”

Stephen R. Byrn Recognized by the AAPS

Professor Stephen R. Byrn (Purdue University) was recognized by the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists with the AAPS Pharmaceutical Global Health Award.  Dr. Byrn is one of the cofounders of the Kilimanjaro Sustainable Medicines in Africa Program, which is dedicated to enabling quality manufacturing of critical medicines in Africa by Africans.

See the video describing the award.